The Revolutionary War, also known as the American Revolution, arose in April 1775 as a result of the increasing tensions between Great Britain’s 13 colonies and the British crown. The British government was determined to raise revenue by taxing the colonies and creating new laws; however, the colonists were demanding the same rights as other British subjects. Revolutionary War didn’t happen overnight, it was a variety of protests, rebellions and small conflicts slowly building up. In 1770, British soldiers opened fire on a mob of colonists resulting with the death of 5 men, which was later named as the Boston Massacre. A group of Bostonians, dressed as Mohawks, dumped tea out of the Boston Harbour to show their resentment.

The conflict was initially within the British Empire; not long before the French, Dutch and Spanish decided to join, creating an international war.

Each of the 13 colony (Delaware, Virginia, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Georgia, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, New Hampshire, New York, and Rhode Island) had its own government. In 1774, the 13 colonies made efforts to unite and establish a single government. Thus, the 13 colonies chose their representatives and gathered in the First Continental Congress. 2 years later, during the Second Continental Congress they declared the independence of the United States. They no longer wanted to be under the rule of a king, they aimed a government that was ruled by the people.

This committee will be focusing on the declaration of American independence whilst establishing the balance of power on strong foundations, as well as evaluating the sociocultural and economic effects of the war.
Agenda Item: Establishing strong fundamentals for United States of America while revising the effects of American Revolutionary War

Study Guide

Rules of Procedure